Meeting Room Interface - Moderator Guide

Have more questions? Submit a request

Overview

This brief guide will provide information on the virtual meeting room and its Moderator controls. You will be introduced to the chat feature and learn how to interact with the on-screen discussion guide.  Also included will be instructions on how to call for help during a live discussion and how to allow entry for your Observers. 

 

The Virtual Meeting Room

If you have live support, your support agent will join the room 30 minutes prior to start time and can give you a quick briefing of the interface.

Figure 1, above, contains the standard meeting controls for a moderator. Participants and observers have fewer controls; everyone can control their own audio and video sources.

 

Moderator Controls

As a moderator, you will see your own video stream small and to the right of the screen. Your respondent(s) will appear larger on the left of the screen.

 

Moderators have access to the Panelist List via the "people" icon on the bottom left. By clicking here, you can invite respondents into the meeting room and dismiss them, as well as see everyone who is connected to the session. If respondent information was added to the respondent hub, you will be able to see details in the respondent info button. You can also control your own audio and video devices with the microphone and camera icons.

 

In the middle of the bottom bar, you have controls to dial participants in by phone (phone icon) and to share your screen or share stimuli (screen with arrow icon).

 

 

Chat and Discussion Guide

As a moderator, you have access to the Public and Backroom chats. The Public chat is visible to every user in the meeting room and can be used to interact with respondents and to broadcast messages.

 

The Backroom chat is visible to Moderators, Support, Observers, and Translators. This is a place to discuss how the discussion is going, invite collaboration from team members, and solicit help from a customer support representative.

 

You can also privately chat with users in the room by clicking the "+ Private Chat" button. These messages will only be seen by users in this chat. Learn more about private chats.

 

You can change your language using the Language dropdown, and any messages you receive will be instantly translated into your selected language.

 

Open the group chat by clicking the teal text bubbles on the right-hand side of your image. Below the Chat is the Discussion Guide button. You can toggle between viewing the chat and the discussion guide.

 

 

 

 

Recording Control, Bookmarking Tool, and Timer

Recording

The recording does not start automatically. To start recording, click the video icon.

When the recording is on, the record icon turns red.

If the recording is not turned on, a red warning notice will appear in the middle of the screen every few minutes.

 

Help!

After the recording is turned on, the Help! button will become active and you'll be able to call for technical assistance if your project has premier live support.

 

Invite Observers

When observers join, they are directed to a waiting page and must be invited into the session when the moderator is ready to begin. They can be invited selectively by using the "people" button in the lower left and clicking the plus sign next to their name or they can be invited all at once by using the "Invite Observers" button in the upper right corner. If your session has live support, your support agent will do this.

 

Save Moment (Bookmarking)

Mark parts of the interview for later analysis and quickly sift through the recording after your session has ended. Click the Save Moment button for annotation in your video recording and an automatically-generated video clip of that moment. Read more about Save the Moment.

 

 

Interview Timer

The timer starts counting up when the recording starts and pauses if the recording is turned off. This allows you to jot down the timestamp associated with notes and refer back to it in the final video recording.

 

Session Controls

Change and control your audio/video devices with the gear icon. The button is located on the bottom right-hand side of your screen.

settings.PNG

 

When open, the Settings page lets you change/choose your audio and video devices for use in the meeting room. You can turn off your Saved Moments tagging option and adjust the video stream quality.

mceclip0.png

If you prefer, you can join the session by phone audio. Click the phone icon on the audio settings and choose to have the system call you, or choose from our list of toll-free dial-in numbers. We recommend letting us call you. When the call connects, you will be prompted to enter the unique PIN code provided in the bottom right of the screen.

 

 

To leave or end the session, click the red X button in the top right. Moderators will be prompted to choose between leaving the meeting and ending the discussion for all participants.

 

mceclip0.png

 

Click here for the whiteboard features overview.

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful