This article shows how to manage teams, their members, and their roles. Users can create a teams and manage team member's permissions at both the team and project levels.
An organization is a company, where the members of an organization all share the same email domain. An organization can have teams and users. When you are a member of an organization, you can view all the teams in that organization.
Contact your account manager if you'd like to organize all your company's work under an organization.
This article details how to manage your organization members: Managing Organization Members
Adding and Removing Organization Admins
Any organization admin can add another organization admin. To remove an admin, please submit this request to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Org admins can see all teams and projects, regardless of their public/private status.
Teams are groups of users who have access to projects. By assigning projects to a team, you ensure that no one loses access if the project owner moves on. Here is how to create a team.
Public or Private
A team can be public or private. Users in an organization can join any public team to view the research being done on that team. Projects within a team can also be public or private, so you can lock down access to a specific project within a team that is otherwise public.
On private teams, only the team administrators can add people to the team; users in an organization can see that the team exists, but they cannot view any research in that team unless they are specifically added as a team member.
Setting a Team to Public or Private
You can set a team to be public or private either when you create the team or at any later point. To edit your privacy settings, click the Team Settings & Members link in the team section of your dashboard.
Viewing All Teams
To view existing teams, go to your Dashboard. At the bottom, you will see a section with your organization's name, and a list of all the teams that exist. You can join public teams here.
Viewing My Teams
If you are a member of a team, it will appear below any projects you own, on your dashboard. You will see a section with your team's name and a list of all the projects on that team. Click to view any public project in your team.
Creating a Team
To create a team, click the New Team button on the dashboard. If you are a member of an organization, this button appears in the organization section at the bottom of your dashboard. If you are not a member of an organization, this button appears at the top next to the New Project button.
When you create a team, you will be able to invite people to be part of your team. If they are already registered users of Discuss.io, they will be added automatically. If they are new users to Discuss, they will be invited to create an account and join your team.
Location of the "+New Team" button for Organization Members:
Location of the "+New Team" button for Users without an Organization:
When you click the New Team button, you'll see a modal asking you to name your team, invite people to be part of your team and set your team to either public or private. These settings can be modified at any time.
Moving Projects to a Team
If you have old projects that you want to assign to a new team, simply go to the Setup tab and select the Settings page of that project. There, you will see a dropdown where you can assign the project to any team that you are currently a member of.
Private and Public Projects
A project can be either public or private. If a project belongs to a team, and it is public, it will be visible to any member of that team, and it can appear in search results for team members.
Private projects are visible only to the specific collaborators added to that project. If a project is private, and it belongs to a team, no team member will be able to view it unless they have been specifically added as a collaborator. This allows you to shield some work even from the larger team.
To make a project public or private, go to your Settings page in the project's Setup tab. Here, you will see a Private Project checkbox. When checked, the project is private. When unchecked, the project is public.
Collaborators and Editors
Anyone on a team will automatically be added as a collaborator on a project that belongs to that team. However, there may be times when you need to make a project private and accessible only to a smaller group of people. This is where collaborators come in.
Or you may want to invite an external partner, such as a professional moderator, who should not have access to the full body of research being done by the team.
Collaborators have access to view project information, including the agenda and links to enter sessions, documents in the document hub, stimuli, and other collaborators.
To add a collaborator: on the Project overview page, click on "Manage Members"
The project members will now appear. Click on "Add Members"
Enter the email address of the person you want to invite and click save. This person does not need to be a member of your team or organization. They will not be added to your team or organization, and will only have access to this specific project you have invited them to. This is ideal for projects that include outside professionals, such as a professional moderator or research agency.
If the person doesn't already have a Discuss account, they will receive an email notification asking them to complete their registration. Once this is done they can log in to their dashboard and have access to the project
Editors are collaborators with extra permissions to create and edit the project's discussion guide, Key Takeaway questions, and to edit and approve the screener.
On the settings page, you will see the Editors section. A person added as an editor will also automatically be added as a collaborator.
Only the project owner may add editors.